About our Fellows


ELATES at Drexel® is a national leadership development program designed to advance senior women faculty in academic STEM disciplines into effective institutional leadership roles within their schools and universities. Travel grants are awarded to select EDGE-ELATES Fellows nominated by their dean.

Each fellow receives $3000.


2021-2022 Fellows

Haiying Huang, Professor; Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Texas at Arlington

Katie Kuder, Professor & Associate Dean; College of Science and Engineering, Seattle University

Jin Li, Professor; Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Sylvie Lorente, Associate Dean; Villanova University College of Engineering

Jamie Padgett, Professor; Rice University


2020-2021 Fellows

Shelly Gulati, Associate Professor; Chair; Faculty Fellow, Academic Advising, University of the Pacific

Zoubeida Ounaies, Professor and Associate Department Head for Administration, Pennsylvania State University

Kelly Ann Salyards, Associate Professor; Associate Department Chair, Bucknell University

Lisa Spainhour, Chair & Professor; Civil & Environmental Engineering,  Florida A&M University-Florida State University




The primary purpose of IAspire Leadership Academy is to develop and train the next generation of underrepresented (URG) leaders in STEM higher education. This program will equip these individuals with skills to lead more effectively in an increasingly complex environment and gain the confidence to influence institutional transformation either in their current position or as they rise to other positions of leadership.

Each fellow receives $2,500.


2021-2022 FELLOWS

Nicole Beebe, University of Texas at San Antonio

Lindsay Corneal, Grand Valley State University

Wahyu Lestari, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Ruth Ochia, Temple University

Wendy Reffeor, Grand Valley State University

Breigh Roszelle, University of Denver

Thuy Vu, University of Texas Rio Grande